Thursday, January 26, 2012

Final cover art for Darkness Abound Vol. 2

This is a final color version of the cover art for my upcoming print book Darkness Abound Vol. 2. What do you think? Should I go with the original black and white version, or does the color do it more justice?

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

The Immanent World

My follow-up to Early Release for Bad Behavior, a story titled A Gut Feeling, will be included in a dark fiction anthology called The Immanent World, which is due out in February. Here is a link to the site.

Sick of the Living Dead Anthology

Here is a splash page from a nine-page comic I wrote called Dead to Me. It will be included in a comic anthology titled Sick of the Living Dead.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Darkness Abound Vol. 2

This is preliminary cover art for my second volume of short stories.

This second volume of dark fiction includes three new tales by Kevin Hopson. The first two stories, A Gut Feeling and The Carpenter Man, are extensions of a previous work titled Early Release for Bad Behavior. Readers are re-introduced to these characters, and both titles act as stand-alone stories. Best described as Justified meets The X-Files, these short stories will entertain readers of crime fiction and science fiction alike. Meanwhile, those interested in apocalyptic settings should get a rise out of The Vanishing, a novelette revolving around six middle school kids whose lives change after an apparent power outage.

Darkness Abound

This print book collects my three short stories by MuseItUp Publishing.

Darkness Abound is a collection of dark fiction short stories that will appeal to science fiction and horror enthusiasts alike. Take a trip through a volcanic ash cloud in World of Ash, confront a mysterious and unknown presence in Earthly Forces, and experience the dangerous world of a death row inmate in Early Release for Bad Behavior. The book's exterior includes a wraparound cover, and interior cover art is provided for each short story.

Early Release for Bad Behavior

My most recent release by MuseItUp Publishing (June 2011).

Someone is illegally moving death row inmates between prisons, and one prisoner finds out firsthand what the perpetrator wants with them.

Earthly Forces

My second release from MuseItUp Publishing (February 2011).

Ken is a middle-aged fisherman who has captained the Sea Mac for more years than he can count. He has experienced heavy weather, rough seas, and even death. However, nothing has prepared him for what he is about to endure on the island of Eilean Boghdoiri. His friend Paul, also the island’s lighthouse keeper, has gone missing. Ken and his deckhand Jimmie set out in search of him, only to discover things are far more complicated than initially thought. As they race to unlock the mystery, Ken and Jimmie find themselves fighting to stay alive. Will Paul ever be found, and, if so, can they make it off the island in time?


After a long hiatus (one year to be exact), my author blog is back. I hope to share a lot of exciting news in coming months.

Below is a blurb for my debut work, World of Ash, which was released by MuseItUp Publishing in the fall of 2010.

"A tightly-woven, scary short story that was impossible for me to put down once I read the first sentence...a captivating short escape into the terror of the unknown."
- Night Owl Reviews (4.5 out of 5 stars)