Friday, April 10, 2015

MuseItUp Author Susan Royal Visits Today!

Susan Royal, a fellow author with MuseItUp Publishing, is a guest on my blog today. She discusses her time travel adventure series, It's About Time, which includes Not Long Ago and From Now On. Read on and learn more about Susan and her fabulous work.

Born in west Texas and raised in south Texas, Susan makes her home in a 100-year-old farmhouse in a small east Texas town that comes complete with a ghost who has been known to harmonize with her son when he plays guitar. 

She is married and the mother of six (she counts her children’s spouses as her own) and five grandchildren who are all unique and very special. Her family is rich with characters, both past and present. Her grandmother shared stories of living on a farm in Oklahoma Territory with three sisters and three brothers and working as a telephone operator in the early 20th century. She heard about growing up in San Antonio in the depression from her father, and experienced being a teenager during WWII through her mother’s eyes.
When she isn’t writing, she still has a day job working as a secretary in the public schools in east Texas. She also does her best to keep up with her grandchildren. Music and painting are two of her passions. Susan is a firm believer in getting what you want without breaking the bank. She loves to bargain shop anywhere there’s a sale and began repurposing long before it was popular. She paints, crafts and sews. Her office/craft/sewing room is littered with her latest projects.

Susan loves to take her readers through all kinds of adventures with liberal doses of romance. So far, she’s written two books in her It’s About Time series, Not Long Ago and From Now On. They are time travel adventures with romance about two people who fall in love despite the fact they come from very different worlds. In My Own Shadow is a Fantasy adventure/romance. Look for her books at MuseItUp/Amazon/B&N. You can also find Odin’s Spear, one of her short stories featured in a Quests, Curses, and Vengeance anthology, Martinus Publishing, available on Amazon.

Want to know more? Visit or for a peek inside this writer’s mind and see what she’s up to. You never know what new worlds she’s going to visit next.

Not Long Ago was published in 2012. While writing it, I pictured a young woman in her twenties hurrying down a busy city sidewalk. One her way past a coffee shop, she notices a handsome stranger through the window. Their eyes meet and what she sees leaves her reeling. Not only does she recognize him, she knows things about the man…but how? Who is he?

From there, the story could have gone anywhere. Turns out it did. The idea of time travel has always fascinated me. Imagine getting up close and personal with history. Experiencing what life is really like in another time. My main characters, Erin and Griffin, meet and fall in love in a medieval world. I didn’t expect to be writing a series, but my daughter insisted the story wasn’t finished, and she was right.     

From Now On came out in June 2014, and it takes up where the first book left off. Some of my favorite characters are back. Arvo: the tall gangly young man with a disreputable shock of red hair who becomes Erin’s good friend and confidant. Sir Edevane: Griffin’s fellow knight and friend. Kat: Griffin’s fiesty little sister.

Sir Griffin travels across centuries to find Erin, the woman he loves. Before they can begin their new life together, he’s sent on a mission to a strange island. When he doesn’t return as planned, Erin assembles a group of his friends to search for him. Followed by his strong-willed sister, Kateryn, they travel to Swansea and secure passage with the notorious Captain Akin.
Erin discovers firsthand how the island has earned its dark reputation when she battles freakish weather, encounters a race of little people known as “Prowlies” and experiences ghosts of the long departed.  Even worse, she discovers there are “ley lines” crossing the island’s mountain peak, creating all sorts of strange phenomena.  Yet these obstacles pale in comparison to the secrets she uncovers while trying to rescue the man she loves.

If you love a time travel adventure with a twist (and a love story) and haven’t read Not Long Ago, please do. You can continue Erin and Griffin’s story with From Now On. As for what’s going to happen to them in Book 3? It’s too soon to tell, but here’s a hint. As the relationship between the two love birds grows, they’ll have more obstacles to overcome. In addition, you’ll likely see something about the caves in Wales, blood moons and ghost stories.

The It’s About Time series is available at MuseItUp, Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Goodreads.

(Due out in Fall, 2015)
In My Own Shadow (fantasy, adventure, romance)
Not Long Ago (time travel, adventure, romance)
Not Long Ago book trailer
All books available at MuseItUp, Amazon, B&N, Goodreads

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Winners of The Fire King giveaway!

Thank you to everyone who participated in the contest. The winners have been selected at random (through Rafflecopter) and are listed below. I have already contacted all three via email. Also, to those of you who didn't win, I'd be happy to provide you with a free copy of The Fire King in appreciation of your support, including people who were kind enough to post comments on my blog. Thanks again.

First Place - Laura Maisano
Second Place - Beverly McClure
Third Place - Karla

Thursday, April 2, 2015

The Fire King E-book Giveaway!

My young adult fantasy novella, The Fire King, will be released by MuseItUp Publishing on April 21. In celebration of its release, I will be giving away MuseItUp gift cards (can be used in their bookstore) and free electronic copies of the book. Just "like" MuseItUp Publishing's Facebook page and you're automatically entered. It's that simple. This contest runs through April 8 (midnight EST). The three winners will be announced on April 9. Good luck!

First Place - $15 MuseItUp Publishing gift certificate + an e-book copy of The Fire King
Second Place - $10 MuseItUp Publishing gift certificate + an e-book copy of The Fire King
Third Place - $5 MuseItUp Publishing gift certificate + an e-book copy of The Fire King

a Rafflecopter giveaway